Honey Marinated Chicken Legs

Yesterday I knew that I had a friend coming over for an evening of math tutoring so my dinner ideas were restricted to a quick prep time followed by roughly two hours of waiting. The choice was obvious – marinate something! That morning I pulled some chicken drumsticks out of the freezer to let thaw throughout the day. As soon as I got home from work I checked my inventory to see what kind of marinade I could whip up.

I used a base of 1/4 cup Hoisin sauce, 1/4 cup soy sauce, and 2 Tbsp honey. A bit of flavor came from 1/2 Tbsp fish sauce, 1/2 Tbsp lime juice, and 1/4 Tbsp See Dick Burn hot sauce I picked up in Louisiana.

The drumsticks were simple to prepare, all that was required was to remove the skins. If you’ve never done it before, you just grasp the chicken and pull the skin back off the bone end.

It’s kind of like pulling off a sock so it’s inside out. Once the skin gets to the joint it takes a bit more effort, but it’ll come off. And look, you can see my ridiculous wrist tan lines I got from wearing gloves and not enough sunscreen during the Seattle to Portland Double Century a few weeks ago. More on that to come…

Once the chicken legs had been skinned they went into a gallon freezer bag along with the marinade. After jostling it around for a bit to make sure each piece was coated the bag went into the refrigerator. I spent the next two hours dividing polynomials and finding asymptotes, taking a few breaks to jostle the chicken some more to keep everything coated.

After I was done tutoring for the evening I turned my attention back to the chicken. A cookie sheet was given a quick spray of cooking oil and the chicken legs were laid out. I baked them at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes, then pulled the pulled them out of the oven to be turned. After another 20 minutes or so they were finished.

The chicken was nice and juicy with a sweet yet slightly spicy flavor. And I love the little bits of char that develop here and there. So I didn’t have just chicken I heated up some leftover quinoa pilaf and poured myself a glass of Dreadnought Stout. Dinner is served. :]

Honey Marinated Chicken Legs

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs chicken legs, about 8 pieces
  • 1/4 cup Hoisin sauce
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1/2 Tbsp fish sauce
  • 1/2 Tbsp lime juice
  • 1/4 Tbsp hot sauce

Instructions

  1. Prepare marinade by mixing Hoisin sauce, soy sauce, honey, fish sauce, lime juice and hot sauce. Set aside.
  2. Remove skin from chicken legs.
  3. Combine marinade and chicken in large zip lock bag. Thoroughly coat chicken. Refrigerate for two hours.
  4. Place chicken pieces on a greased baking sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. Turn chicken over and bake for another 20 minutes.
Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Recipes

Leave a Reply

